NV Supreme CT Chief Justice Gibbons Won't Seek Re-Election

Is The Longest Serving Justice On State's Supreme Court

Mitch Kelly
November 05, 2019 - 6:22 am

Photo Courtesy: USA Today


LAS VEGAS, NV (KXNT) - Chief Justice Mark Gibbons announced today he will not seek re-election in 2020 for a fourth term on the Nevada Supreme Court.

Chief Justice Gibbons was first elected to the Nevada Supreme Court in 2002. He is the longest serving Justice among the seven members of the Court.

Prior to his election to the Supreme Court, Chief Justice Gibbons served as a District Court Judge in Clark County for six years. In 2001, he was elected Chief Judge of the Eighth Judicial District Court by his fellow judges.

“Since judicial election filing opens in January 2020, I wanted to make this announcement early so people interested in the position could decide to file for the office,” said Chief Justice Gibbons.

The term of office for a Supreme Court Justice is six years.

Chief Justice Gibbons is a graduate of the University of California, Irvine and Loyola University School of Law. Chief Justice Gibbons is the brother of Nevada Court of Appeals Chief Judge Michael P. Gibbons.